A Darker Shade of Magic Review

Caroline Cox
Oct 26, 2020

I heard about A Darker Shade of Magic through A Frolic Through Fiction, and it’s my first book recommendation that I have taken from her YouTube channel. I am not overly fond of fantasy reads, but this one blew my mind. I borrowed the audiobook and intended for the story to keep my company while I went to Asda. My shopping trip took longer than expected because the store decided to move everything around. I could not find anything. I was unenthused about the needless rearrangement, but I was also happy because it gave me more time to enjoy the audiobook.

I enjoyed it so much I accidentally finished the entire book that day, after I got home (do I have a problem???).

The story was compelling — a thief from Gray London (the London in our world) gets pulled into Londons in other worlds with magic by a smuggler from Red London, and together they have to stop the spread of evil from Black London. Even more excellent than the story was the character development. Lila and Kell are brilliantly crafted characters and I cannot wait to continue their story in the rest of the series.

--

--

Caroline Cox

Sometimes Historian | Full-Time Bookworm | Can't Hear You