A Gathering of Shadows Review

Caroline Cox
Oct 27, 2020

--

I was completely sucked into A Darker Shade of Magic and so I immediately put myself on the waiting lists for the other two books in the series, A Gathering of Shadows, and A Conjuring of Light. Lucky for me, the second book became available the very next day, so I spent the time I should have been using to do work to listen to the entire audiobook.

I thoroughly enjoyed A Gathering of Shadows, but it felt like the plot was merely a bridge between the first and last books, rather than a story that would have been interesting on its own, hence I only (only) rated it four stars. That said, it is brilliantly written and the character development was superb. In addition, the new character, Alucard, did not feel awkward or like an add-on plot device, a problem I usually have with new characters in a series.

I am still on the waitlist for the third book (it’s been an entire week, and I am in deep, deep withdrawal).

In my desperation, I am tempted to reread the first two.

--

--

Caroline Cox

Sometimes Historian | Full-Time Bookworm | Can't Hear You